Uncategorized

Mannequin Minute… crushing on fresh face Sara Ramen


Shot by Richard Bailey for Vogue Australia via Chadwicks Models

As promised this the first post for the new Fashion Exposed blog series titled Mannequin Minute.
Each week FEO will profile Australia’s up-and-coming models, the next batch of potential Miranda’s and Abbey Lee’s who are keen to step into their Manolo’s, or vintage combat boots as is the case with Miss Kershaw.
We felt the need to start this section to assist retailers and fashion labels, because with so many beautiful girls out there, it can be tricky sourcing the right face to fit your aesthetic.
Securing the perfect girl is the final piece in your product puzzle, she is the muse that reflects your story, the essence of the creative process that underlies your brand.
And let’s face it, stitching the right face with the right brand has been a tried and tested successful recipe in fashion history.
Just look at the triumphant partnership of Kate Moss and Calvin Klein, Erin Wasson and Maybelline, or in even with the alignment of Miranda Kerr with mega-department store David Jones fresh from her Victoria Secret signing and pairing with Hollywood heartthrob Orlando Bloom, it was an explosive chemistry.
And there’s no denying the impact Australian high-street chain, Portmans’ had on it’s competition when they launched their last campaign bearing peroxide princess, Abbey Lee Kershaw straight off the Chanel catwalk.
The imagery posted on billboards nationwide and accompanying behind-the-scenes video, starring Harper’s Bazaar stylist Christine Centenera went viral – obviously.
So in saying that, Mannequin Minute will endeavour to reveal the next crop of `it girls’ we’ll be coveting and the babes you’ll be crushing on for year’s to come.
But right now, we’re hot for Chadwick’s catch, Sara Ramen, with pins to rival Jessica Rabbit, tousled waves of caramel-flavoured tresses, and a face that hints at the iconic beauty of runway royalty Laetitia Casta, it won’t be long before this genetic gem is hitting the big time.
You know you’re on your way when style bible Vogue Australia has handpicked you for a shoot with lens legend, Richard Bailey, and a test shoot with glossy snapper, Nicole Bentley.
We took five with the Melburnian maven to chat about how her French mum influences her style, being discovered at a Hoyts cinema age 11, and her favourite food, Swedish Gravadlax?



You are tipped as the next fresh face, what does this mean to you?
I think it’s really special to be tipped the new face; there are a lot of models in the industry so to be able to stand out means a lot to me.

When did you know modelling was what you wanted to do?
It was during my first shoot for Vogue Australia, it was such a wonderful and exciting experience.
I knew that I wanted to be in the industry the second Richard Bailey started clicking his camera.

Where were you when you were discovered? and what were you doing? Were you shocked?
I was 11 years old and with my friends about to see a movie at Hoyts cinema in Perth.
I didn’t even know what modelling was!

Who are your style influences and why?
I think my Mum is extremely influential in regards to my style.
She’s French, and just has this naturalness about how she wears her clothes- she also has amazing taste and a wardrobe that I love to raid whenever I’m home!

Are there any iconic Australian or international models who inspire you?
I think Daria Werbowy is pretty amazing! When she first started out modelling no one wanted to book her for jobs, so she took some time off and when she came back they all wanted her!
She is extremely successful and comes across as really down to earth.
It just goes to show how important perseverance and having thick skin is in this industry!

Nicole Bentley test shoot



What is it about the industry that makes you want to risk everything to be part of it?
I’ve learnt so much from the people that I’ve worked with and it’s a really amazing feeling to constantly be surrounded by such creative people.
Being a part of this industry has helped shape the person that I am today and continues to do so.

Do you have a strict beauty regimen? What are your must-have beauty products?
I’ve really fallen in love with Danné Montague-King.
Every morning and evening I cleanse, apply the Beta gel serum, spray the herb and mineral mist and moisturise.
I always make sure that I put sun protection on my face during the day, especially in summer.

What is your favourite food?
Definitely Gravadlax! My Dad is Swedish so I’ve been eating fish and potatoes since I could chew!
The salmon takes a few days to cure, but it’s definitely worth the wait.


What clothing label are you currently lusting for?
Lanvin! I think Alber Elbaz is absolutely amazing.
I’m also a huge fan of Acne! I was so excited when Lanvin collaborated with Acne, it was denim heaven!!

How do you relax from a long day on set?
It always feels good to come home and take a long bath and then watch a movie or listen to some music.

What are some of the jobs you have done so far?
I’ve shot for Australian and British Vogue, Australian Marie Claire, Elle France and I’ve shot campaigns for Empire Rose, Lee jeans and Galleries Lafayette to name a few…

Which designer would you most love to work with and why?
I would love to work with Alber Elbaz.
I think he’s very talented and has a wonderful gift when it comes to designing.
His dresses fit like a glove, and he designs the most beautiful suits for men… especially the bow ties!

I keep fit by…
Exercising 4-5 times a week and walking whenever possible.

The last song I listened to was…
Heart of Gold- Neil Young

If I wasn’t living in Melbourne, I would have a home in…
New York or Paris!

Not many people know that I…
am a clean freak…. Especially when stressed!



Shot by Richard Bailey for Vogue Australia

If I wasn’t discovered as a model, I would be…
Writing for a fashion magazine, or working in public relations for a Fashion house.

I couldn’t live without…
My family, friends and music!

All images supplied by Chadwicks and Sara Ramen

3 thoughts on “Mannequin Minute… crushing on fresh face Sara Ramen

  1. Thank you for another informative site. Where else could I get that type of info written in such a perfect way? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  2. Hey! I realize this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask. Does managing a well-established website such as yours take a lot of work? I’m brand new to running a blog but I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

Leave a comment